There have been some issues in recent days with my blog’s spam filter catching legitimate comments and throwing them into “moderation” because they link to URLs from perfectly legitimate domains (e.g., nytimes.com, sfgate.com, nasa.gov, house.gov) that have been automatically “blacklisted” by SpamKarma for some reason. I don’t know for sure, but I’m guessing that some spammers are now deliberately including legit domains in their own spam messages, in order to get those domains blacklisted and thus create so many false positives that bloggers will weaken or remove their anti-spam defenses. Unfortunately, that’s not a possibility for me, because I get an enormous amount of spam, so I’m afraid I have to live with the false positives and correct them manually as best I can. I’ve whitelisted the domains in question for now, but I suspect similar problems will recur in the future. So, if you try to leave a comment and it gets sent to “moderation,” please shoot me an e-mail, and I’ll “approve” it as soon as I get your message. Otherwise, I may not see it for several days, if ever.
|
Categories: Website News
|
July 12th, 2007 at 2:41:34 am
Thanks for the info, I’ll just make the url’s more reader intuitive.
July 12th, 2007 at 4:40:55 pm
nytimes.com is a “legitimate domain” ?